History of Klein Lacrosse

Klein Lacrosse was established in 1991 by Jim Perryman. Jim served as varsity coach until his retirement in 2003. Jim had his fair share of struggles, from lack of support and field restrictions, but he kept the program alive with a lot of West Texas grit. He was a man who refused to take “no” for an answer.

Mark Feltch, who coached in 1993, the Klein Gold “second” varsity team and the first JV team, remembers Jim fondly. Mark lived in the Galleria area, drove to Sugarland to pick up Jim’s goalie, Richard Chen, then drove him to Cypress Creek Christian Community field and then back home to Sugarland.

Tim Leyden and Bruce Roloff continued Jim’s legacy coaching 12 years and 10 years respectively at the middle school level and the high school level, with a state championship in 2006, and are still with our program today. What commitment those men had to keep Klein Lacrosse alive! They received no compensation for their hard work, just the satisfaction of coaching and their love of lacrosse. Each year we honor Jim Perryman’s memory with a trophy in his name to a senior boy and a senior girl who exemplifies his spirit and the love of the game.